January 24, 2008

Almond Scones

Posted in baking, brunch, the Challenge, VwaV at 7:05 pm by veganalects


I’d been planning to make the Hazelnut Scones from Vegan with a Vengeance for a while. I finally got it together and settled down to make them when I discovered, mid-recipe, that I didn’t have enough hazelnuts. Horror of horrors! I had my heart set on these particular scones and I’d already started brewing the coffee for them, so I raced to the closest grocery store for more. No dice. Are hazelnuts some kind of specialty item? Why could I find eleven glazes of roasted peanut but not one measly hazelnut?

In any case, I was determined to make scones, and I noticed we had slivered almonds on hand. I decided to adapt the standard scone recipe in VwaV slightly. I made a half recipe and added one tablespoon of sugar, 3/4 cup of almonds, and 1/2 teaspoon each of vanilla and almond extract.  I also sprinkled them with a few almonds and turbinado sugar before putting them in the oven.

They were quite tasty. I could have added a little more almond extract, but other than that I wouldn’t change anything. I had reduced the recipe because I thought sixteen scones for three people seemed a little excessive. But the nine scones I made disappeared in a day and a half. So I’ve learned three valuable lessons:

1. Make sure you have enough of everything before you start cooking.
2. If you run out of something, improvise something else yummy.
3. You can never have too many scones. In fact, you should make some more this weekend. With hazelnuts this time.

5 Comments »

  1. Anke said,

    I prefer almonds anyway so these sound perfect to me :-)

  2. Romina said,

    Mmm. I haven’t had a scone in such a long time, but these make me want to have one!

  3. Liz² said,

    omg, those look awesome. and I love your 3 rules so true, so true!

  4. Lizzy said,

    Great rules and so true ;)

    I love the picture!! I’ve never had scones before. What is their texture like?

  5. veganalects said,

    Scones for all!

    Lizzy- VwaV describes them as “doughy biscuits,” and that seems about right to me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

