January 31, 2008

Quick Update: An Omnivore’s Opinion

Posted in dessert, dinner, tofu, Veganomicon at 8:09 pm by veganalects


A couple nights ago a family friend came over for dinner who seemed a bit leery of vegan food. I decided to recycle two of our favorite recipes that I’ve posted about before—no experimenting when doubting omnivores come to dinner. Sure, my dad’s an omnivore, but he’s related to me, so it’s no disaster if I make him something less than dazzling. I made VeganYumYum‘s Pan-Fried Tofu, Kale, and Stir-Fried Noodles and Veganomicon‘s Tea Poached Pears in Chocolate Sauce for dessert.

These recipes worked before and they didn’t fail me this time, either. I may not have dispelled the idea that vegans subsist on tofu, but I hope I at least demonstrated that we eat good tofu. Our friend seemed to like both components of the meal; he’s not the type to gush, but he did compliment. Good enough for me.

pear.jpg

4 Comments »

  1. emilie said,

    Your dessert here is so beautiful! Pears just look so elegant and with some sauce and a bright white scoop of ice cream…forget it, it’s perfect. Looks like you did a kicking job of impressing the omnis!

  2. Catherine Iino said,

    I’m guessing the nongushing omnivore is the man I married. I have to say, he did come close to gushing to me about the dinner you made–and this from someone who always looks a little hurt when I feed him a meatless meal. So congratulations on the whole project, lovely blog and all. Wish I had had the chance to sample with more than my eyes.

  3. veganalects said,

    Cathy- that’s so good to hear! I’m glad you enjoy the blog. Maybe this summer I could cook for you (now that might make me nervous).

  4. Dayna said,

    Don’t you just love cooking for guests?
    Your dishes look delicious! I’m sure his mouth was just too full of good food to gush.


Leave a comment