March 2, 2008

Dinner Party!

Posted in dinner, pasta, tofu at 7:13 am by veganalects

Oh yeah. An all-vegan dinner party. Whose chefs, with the exception of me, are not vegan. Aren’t my friends great?

What was most impressive about this dinner party was not its veganness, however—that accomplishment may have impressed my lacto-ovo and omni friends, but most of you know that’s no problem. The feat lay in cooking all our dishes in a tiny, dirty dorm kitchen with a stove that only has the strength to heat two burners at a time, a considerable shortage of pots and utensils, an oversensitive fire alarm, and a handful of neighbors trying to make their own dinners. Sure, I broke my blender. Sure, we had to waft smoke out the windows with plastic bags. But the food was excellent. And for managing as successfully as we did despite the circumstances, I am particularly proud of us.

On to the fare. What you see above is a vegetable stir fry with fried tofu and a most delectable peanut sauce (not pictured). I’m not responsible for any of that, although I did graciously offer my taste-testing services to its cooks.

At first I was just going to make dessert (more on that later), but we thought we might not have enough food (ha!), so I decided to make a double recipe of my easy-delicious staple, Mac and Cheese from FatFree Vegan Kitchen:

pic1.jpg

Good as always. Below you see a full plate, which has both of the above dishes plus “Mullatkes”: potato-sweet potato latkes, loosely based on the Potato Latke recipe in Veganomicon. There were about ten gazillion of these, the majority of which we ate while we cooked. I think they might have been the best latkes I’ve ever had, and I’ve had a lotta latkes in my day. (Sorry, I just can’t resist the opportunity to make latke puns.) And we even had vegan sour cream on the side! It was practically Channukah.

Not pictured are the tasty but unphotogenic Tom Yum Soup, Amy Winehouse, eighty-three dirty dishes, and Cappuccino Cupcakes. The cupcakes are my babies and thus get their own post. So stay tuned…and throw a dinner party this weekend.

pic2.jpg

6 Comments »

  1. Anke said,

    your friends are great :-) and the food looks delish :-)

  2. BitterSweet said,

    Aw man, can I share your friends? How awesome are they, making such great food… I’m so jealous over here!

  3. LizĀ² said,

    omg, that all sounds so fingerlicking awesome. And nice job with the limited resources!

  4. Looks so good! I want to go to a vegan dinner party!

  5. Jessica said,

    I have been scrolling through your blog and love it! Your pics are fantastic and I am sold on that HUGE batch of noodles!

  6. 14yearoldvegan said,

    Mmm i lovee vegan mac & cheeze! Especially with nutritional yeast :) man that stuffff is good.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

