March 8, 2008

Cappuccino Cupcakes

Posted in baking, cupcakes, dessert, VCTOTW at 5:28 pm by veganalects

Yes, these would be Beverage-Themed Cupcakes #4. And there are still more I want to make (Mexican Hot Chocolate Cupcakes, Margarita Cupcakes). Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World has not yet failed me. I made these for last weekend’s dinner party and they went fast. Even the leftover Cappuccino Creme filling went fast. For the record: my agar-agar flakes mysteriously disappeared, but the filling worked just fine without them (I increased the arrowroot powder to make sure it got firm enough). Here’s the cupcake-filling saga; it begins with the unadorned cupcakes above.

cup0.jpg

First you stick your (clean) finger in the cupcakes, hollowing out a little reservoir by pushing around the sides of the hole. In my first attempts, the holes weren’t big enough—that means less Cappuccino Creme. No. You want lots of Cappuccino Creme. Make a big hole.

cup14.jpg

Then you use a pastry bag (or, in my case, a Ziploc-knockoff resealable bag, the poor man’s pastry bag) and fill those cupcakes. This part is a lot of fun. You’d be surprised how much creme can fit in those nice holes you’ve made.

cup2.jpg

Et voila! Your filled cupcakes, dinner party-ready. If you like you can spread more of the creme on top—I had plenty left over. Or you can let your cupcake eaters spread their own. Either way, you are sure to win friends and influence people with these cute caffeinated cupcakes.

6 Comments »

  1. The Red Kettle said,

    I like your tray.

  2. Wow, what elegant cupcakes! And I think a caffeinated cupcake would just make my day.

  3. Anke said,

    yum, I love coffee flavored things. these cupcakes look absolutely delicious :-)

  4. Cody said,

    Yummy! I have been a little crazy for the cappuccino/mocha foods lately. I can’t believe I haven’t made the cappuccino creme yet.

  5. Carmen said,

    Holy crap that’s INGENIOUS. I can’t wait til I go home this summer to try that out! Oh my goodness–and the muffins are so cute too!

  6. Dorothy said,

    yum; the cappucino cream looks so delicious!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

