July 9, 2008

Vegan Cupcakes Take Over My Birthday

Posted in baking, cupcakes, dessert, VCTOTW at 9:34 pm by veganalects

My girlfriend and I both celebrated our 21st birthdays this summer, two days apart. (I’m older. Ha!) Two birthdays means two parties in our book, and that, in turn, means cupcakes. Lots of cupcakes. Say, five batches of cupcakes.

All of these came from trusty Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, which is now so well-loved that the pages are falling out. (Advice, anyone?) I’ve made many a cupcake from this book before, but these ones revealed new favorites. Actually, one them is a new/old favorite—the Green Tea Cupcakes, pictured above. I’d made and liked them before, but lacked pure green tea powder (matcha); mine was mixed with dextrin. I finally found the good stuff at a small Asian grocery in Ohio. And look at the difference!

Here are the ones I made last winter with the compromised matcha. Pretty, yes, but…

…these ones are, you know, green. Rich, dark green. And they actually taste like green tea, instead of generic yumminess. Now that look at these together I realize the pale ones are prettier, but that can be attributed to my laziness in making the second batch. (Marzipan and I don’t get along.)

While I made the Green Tea Cupcakes my girlfriend made these Margarita Cupcakes. I mean, I’d take tea over tequila any day, but we were turning 21, after all. And these dolls were good. I think the fresh lime juice really makes them, and if you’ve read this blog with any frequency you know there are few things I love more than beverage-themed cupcakes (two so far this post, one to go).

For a pre-birthday celebration we made the Hazelnut Cupcakes with Hazelnut Mocha Creme. I haven’t been able to hunt down hazelnut extract, so we made these with almond extract instead; it also calls of hazelnut liqueur, which we omitted. They were good but not my favorite, though I bet the hazelnut extract and liqueur would make a difference.

I’d been eyeing the Pistachio Rosewater Cupcakes for months, but the rosewater I had is kind of tasteless. As birthdays provide a great excuse for extravagance, we got superior rosewater and beautiful pistachios and set to baking. These are my new favorite cupcakes. The rosewater is delicate and fragrant and complements the pistachios superbly. The only other spice is a bit of cardamom—no vanilla or other flavorings. The texture is perfect, light and moist. These feel far fancier than I thought a cupcake could and they aren’t even hard to make. I made these again yesterday and I’m resisting sneaking into the kitchen right now. (A few tips for those planning to make these: buying shelled pistachios and putting them in a spice grinder or food processor, rather than shelling and chopping them by hand, will cut out the only labor-intensive parts of this recipe. Also, the recipe doesn’t actually say when to add the pistachios to the batter, but putting them in with the rest of the dry ingredients works fine.)

And last, the Mexican Hot Chocolate Cupcakes. I can’t take credit for these, either, as I was busy making the ones above, but I will make them in the future. (With even more cayenne. I like a kick.) The spices in these cupcakes make them more complicated than the basic chocolate ones. Next time I’m in the mood for chocolate, I’d make the Mexican variety first.

8 Comments »

  1. you will know who said,

    ha! you are your mother’s daughter.

  2. veganalects said,

    …I don’t think I do know who! And I don’t know what you mean.

    Oh, the suspense.

  3. veganalects said,

    Okay, I know who.

  4. Julia said,

    try taking the cookbook to kinkos and have it coil bound, use a super sharp exacto knife to cut off the spine and then they can rebind it. coil binding lets you turn the pages and lay it flat. don’t let them talk you into GBC comb binding, it doesn’t lay flat and makes the pages worse over time. it sucks. coil via kinkos or twin wire-o binding (not offered at kinkos) is what you want. my husband redoes all his instructional books that way so they lay flat. oh, and you’ll lose about 1/4 inch to the binding in the center gutter so be sure to use that exacto as close to the edge as possible.

  5. veganalects said,

    Julia- Thanks so much! I never would have thought of that. Coil-bound would be fabulous.

  6. sandrar said,

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

  7. megan fox said,

    Sign: umsun Hello!!! rcuwwymhyw and 688ssgfhphzye and 1255I love your blog. :) I just came across your blog.

  8. black celebs said,

    Sign: wdpad Hello!!! umkpp and 9594rhhchtdwcs and 4080 : Cooooool blog really


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

