January 11, 2008

Tofu, Noodles, and Kale

Posted in dinner, pasta, the Challenge, tofu at 11:10 pm by veganalects

Last night I decided to try Lolo’s Pan-Fried Tofu, Kale, and Stir-Fried Noodles.  If you haven’t seen Lolo’s blog, VeganYumYum, do yourself a favor and go visit.  I came upon it as a fledgling vegan and it, more than anything else, got me into cooking.

Of course, she makes everything look so artful and easy!  This is a wonderful recipe, especially if you’re trying to turn someone onto tofu, but be aware that if you double the recipe, as I did, the meal can a take a while to prepare.  (I’m sure making the marinade and dipping sauce in advance would help.)  The sauces are very tasty, and tofu cooked this way has a great texture and taste.  We were glad to have leftovers.

I had never cooked kale before, although I’ve eaten it plenty of times.  Un- or undercooked, kale has a bitter taste that a lot of people don’t like.  But cooked this way that bitterness disappeared—it had everything I like about spinach, plus some texture.

I’ll definitely make this again when I have a little time and a head of kale on hand.

 

1 Comment »

  1. Jenn said,

    This looks really good. I’ll have to try it sometime soon. My blogging buddies and I have just started posting some vegan recipes. Check ’em out if you have a chance. http://crunchnmunch.wordpress.com/tag/vegan/


Leave a Reply

