January 15, 2008

Sunday Brunch

Posted in brunch, Veganomicon at 2:03 am by veganalects

Five dinners, including one dessert; one batch of baking; a mango lassi. All I had left to complete the week’s Challenge was a breakfast or brunch. I decided to make the Lemon-Corn Waffles (sans blueberry syrup) from Vegan With a Vengeance and Diner Home Fries from Veganomicon. (Is it any wonder I had a dream about Isa Chandra Moskowitz?)

Hoping to keep the morning as stress-free as possible, I decided to follow Isa Chandra’s advice and make the waffles the night before, to be reheated the following morning. I dug our twenty-year-old waffle iron out of the basement—literally prying it off the shelf on which it has sat for the last decade—and hoped I could figure out how to use it without the manufacturer’s instructions. No suck luck; when I opened the waffle iron there was no waffle, just a burned skin sticking to both faces. So I made pancakes.

Despite the stack of pancakes all ready in the fridge, the next morning was pretty frantic. I accidentally overboiled the potatoes, so my dad and I did careful surgery on them by frying them on high heat and carefully turning over each potato. Miraculously, it worked. The Diner Home Fries live up to their name, the pancakes are tasty even without the blueberry syrup, and we had a great brunch with good friends and good food. I still want waffles, though, so maybe I’ll see what I can do about reseasoning that waffle iron.

1 Comment »

  1. urbanvegan said,

    V-con is amazing, isn’t it? Nice blog!


Leave a Reply

