January 18, 2008

Black Bean Burgers with Cilantro Sour Cream

Posted in dinner, Veganomicon at 1:59 am by veganalects

After all the soups and pastas we’ve been eating of late, I decided it was time for good old-fashioned burgers and fries. Or burgers and fries made over into black bean burgers and roasted potatoes. I don’t know about you, but I usually prefer black bean burgers to run-of-the-mill veggie burgers.

The BBBs were another Veganomicon recipe and I served them with the Cilantro Sour Cream they recommend. I could pretty much eat cilantro in every dish, and my mom’s the same way. (Has anyone made cilantro ice cream? I mean, it worked for mint.) The sour cream recipe calls for non-vacuum packed silken tofu, but I could only find the vacuum packed, and it worked fine. Yum! I thought the sour cream made this dish—the burgers are nice, but they’re pretty plain (as they’re supposed to be) and without a condiment they might have been too dry. Since I hate ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise, and relish, sour cream seemed like an appealing option. The combination of lime juice and agave gives it the necessary sour cream tang.

I should state that as with Mac and Cheese, burgers were never something I liked or ate as an omnivore. But does anyone expect BBBs to replace GBBs (ground beef burgers)? They’re just a casual, fun, unseasonally backyard-barbeque-ish meal.

1 Comment »

  1. Judy said,

    Another good topping for the burgers would be salsa of any kind (and it wouldn’t even have to be homemade!).


Leave a Reply

