January 25, 2008

Mango Lassi Test Lab #2

Posted in beverages, dessert, recipe, the Challenge at 7:19 pm by veganalects


Oh, the elusive mango lassi. As I mentioned in my last post about it, mango lassi is one of the few things I really miss from my pre-vegan days. The obvious solution to my craving is to concoct a vegan version, but I have yet to find the perfect recipe. My last attempt was too yogurty; this one was closer, but still not flawless.

Part of the reason this recipe is hard to pin down is that I’m using fresh (and therefore unpredictable) mangos. This mango was less sweet and flavorful than the last, so it caught me off guard. Even though this time I used only half the yogurt I did last time, because of the mango’s inferior flavor, it was still slightly too yogurty. I also had to increase the sugar. I may try using mango pulp, but I’d really prefer to use fresh fruit if I can. And maybe changing soy yogurt brands would help—I like WholeSoy better than Silk anyway.

This recipe is better than the last one, but if you decide to use it you may need to adjust the sugar based on your mango and your taste. I dusted this one with cardamom, which I don’t think is standard but is definitely scrumptious.

Better Mango Lassi
makes a scant two

medium mango
3/4 cup plain soy yogurt (or less)
4 large ice cubes
1 – 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon rosewater
cardamom, optional

Peel, pit, and dice the mango. Blend all ingredient in a blender (food processor is also fine). Dust with cardamom and garnish with mint if desired.

3 Comments »

  1. Romina said,

    I’ve never had mango lassi, but it looks so good!

  2. emilie said,

    I just got some insanely good looking mangoes yesterday…this lassi looks like the perfect way to use them. Thanks!

  3. I have a can of mango pulp in my pantry and I love lassi so much! Thanks for the idea, I guess we will have mango lassi on the next hot (pre-)summer day šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

