January 25, 2008

This is Dinner?

Posted in dinner, salad, the Challenge, Veganomicon at 12:33 am by veganalects

Well, yes. This is part of dinner. This is also the bottom of a celeriac, or celery root.

Lolo’s post about celeriac and Celery Rémoulade on VeganYumYum intrigued me, but I had forgotten about making it until I stumbled upon this beauty sitting next to the broccoli. Lolo tells you everything you might want to know about celeriac and I don’t have much to add. I’ll just tell you how my attempt to make this French side dish went.

pic.jpgIt tasted good, but it didn’t come out quite right. We lost the shredding attachment for our blender, so the texture was a bit off, for one thing. But the main problem was the dressing-to-celeriac ratio. I don’t know if it was that the celery was diced too small or that I had a particularly small celeriac, but my rémoulade resembled rice pudding (as you can see). It was fine over baby greens—and even better on Swedish crisp bread—but it would have been too saucy on its own.

Part 2 of dinner was similarly tasty-but-imperfect. I tried to make the Samosa Stuffed Baked Potatoes from Veganomicon; in my rush to get dinner on the table, however (I had two hungry parents sniffing around the kitchen), I broke the potato skins. So they became inelegant (but certainly not inedible) Samosa Mashed Potatoes. Kind of an odd combination, my slightly mangled French and Indian dishes, but I enjoyed them both anyway.

pic2.jpg

3 Comments »

  1. Romina said,

    I was fearful that would be the rotting brain of an animal. Thank goodness it’s not!

  2. Dad said,

    Well, as the beneficiary of all these fabulous meals, you will not hear anything that genuinely counts as a complaint. But I think this was the least successful so far – not just because the potatoes fell apart, but also because it was the least interesting and surprising set of textures and tastes.

    Basically, I think that even if the baked potatoes had stayed in one piece, you would have been faced with the fact that there are limits to how enjoyable a baked potato can be. (Perhaps this is a heresy.) It’s hardly ever bad, but it’s also hardly ever great. The baked potato lacks the resources to overcome its own essential blandness, even with the attractive samosa vegetables stuffing it.

  3. Lizzy said,

    I’m getting hungry! Seriously, your dishes look so wonderful. I haven’t eaten celery in such a long time.

    Well, I don’t know if it helps but I would come over for dinner any day no matter what shape the potatoes are 🙂


Leave a Reply

