January 26, 2008

Sour Cream Silver Dollar Pancakes

Posted in brunch, recipe, the Challenge at 7:50 pm by veganalects

There are two schools of thought when it comes to pancakes. Some prefer sweet batter; some prefer neutral or slightly savory batter. I am a card-carrying member of the Savory Pancake Society, and I can debate passionately about sugarless pancakes’ superiority over their sweetened counterparts. In my book, sweet batter + maple syrup = too sugary. I like the sweet-salty contrast and I like to let the syrup speak for itself. But it’s really just a matter of taste, and no debating can change that. If you share my taste in pancakes, read on. (Or just skip to the recipe and make it immediately.)

What with all the pancakes sprouting up on vegan blogs these days, I could no longer resist making some of my own. I skipped my standard pancake recipe in favor of one I’ve been curious about for a couple years now: the Sour Cream Pancakes in the 1961 New York Times Cook Book. I don’t know why I didn’t make these sooner, but sometimes things need to lie dormant in my mind for a few years before I get around to doing them.

I used Tofutti sour cream for this (I almost got adventurous and used my leftover cilantro sour cream before I realized it has roasted garlic in it—not what I want in my pancakes). Homemade sour cream would probably work too, but I can’t vouch for it. I’ll have to try it out and let you know how it goes. Obviously I veganized this recipe, but I also altered it by adding a significant amount of soy creamer to improve the consistency. I’ll include my version here.

But I’m getting off track. Here’s the verdict: these were great! To return to my sweet vs. savory rant, I loved the slightly salty, slightly sour notes that come from the sour cream. For obvious reasons, these pancakes are also creamier and smoother than most. Their only downside is that the batter is a funny consistency and takes a little bit of coaxing into shape. But that’s really not hard. I made silver dollar pancakes because they’re easier in my pan, but I’m sure bigger ones would work well too.

Sour Cream Pancakes
adapted from the NY Times Cook Book
makes 14 silver dollar pancakes

1 cup flour
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking soda
1 ¼ cups vegan sour cream (homemade or Tofutti, as long as it doesn’t have things that would be gross in pancakes)
1 Ener-G egg replacement
½ cup + 2 Tbs soy creamer (soymilk also works)

1. In a large mixing bowl, sift or mix together flour, salt, and baking soda.

2. In a small mixing bowl, combine sour cream, Ener-G egg, and soy creamer. Pour into the flour mixture and stir gently until just mixed. Do not beat.

3. Heat a griddle or skillet (do yourself a favor and use non-stick if you have it), grease lightly if necessary, and drop the batter by ¼ cupfuls onto it, spreading carefully into ¼ inch-thick circles. When bubbles break on top of the pancakes, check the underside with a spatula. If it’s golden brown, flip and cook on the other side until that’s golden brown as well.

7 Comments »

  1. theredkettle said,

    Here’s the deal. I’m trying to figure out why my right Archives, Blogroll, Categories column won’t show up on my home page, and so I’ve been trying out one Theme after another, and not one of them has worked! Can you believe it? And in the process, I used the one I originally had when I set up my blog for the first time on your computer, and automatically my original header was the default and don’t you remember when I did that by searching your iPhoto library??

    And here’s the other deal. You are WAY out doing me. I’m not keeping up at. ALL. And while I’ve done many things that I’ve not posted about, I think you now have 22 posts to my 7. This is not. Good.

  2. BitterSweet said,

    Now that’s one inviting stack of pancakes. Talk about a breakfast of champions!

  3. Haha more pancakes!!! Yaylicious :o)

    Your photo is gorgeous (the lighting is perfect!)– and the pancakes look delicious, to boot!

  4. Romina said,

    PANCAKES!! YAY!
    Those look soooo good. Thanks for the recipe. =)

  5. Lizzy said,

    Oh I will HAVE to make those =D Awesome picture!!
    Just yesterday, after even more fruity sweet pancakes, I thought about zucchini /pepper or whatnot veggie sour cream pancakes. Thank you so much for the recipe!!

  6. Anke said,

    I’ve never thought about making savory pancakes, but hey, why not? great idea 🙂

  7. Liz² said,

    mmm, I am SO with you there. For some reason I’d actually forgotten about sour cream pancakes, and they used to be my favourite kind! oooh, I wish anywhere around here sold soy sour cream (maybe some experimentation with tofu and lemon juice might do it?)


Leave a Reply

