January 28, 2008

Kid Tested, Mother (and Father) Approved

Posted in dinner, pasta, the Challenge at 4:26 am by veganalects


No, not Kix. (Though I do love my Kix.) I’m talking about vegan mac and cheese.

I was very pleased with the recipe from FatFree Vegan Kitchen, and while I’ve been meaning to try other recipes, I always just feel like making that one. It’s quick, simple, and so good. So when I promised to make lunch today and realized that the cupboard was rather bare, it seemed a divine signal to see how my parents reacted to cheeseless mac and cheese.

Thumbs up! They both had seconds and my dad almost went for thirds. True, that may have had something to do with how long I kept them waiting for it, but I think they liked it, too.

Tomorrow: back to making actual dinners.

5 Comments »

  1. Romina said,

    I’ve made that recipe a few times, and it’s by far my favorite. It’s so simple and tasty, it makes the perfect comfort food.

  2. Lizzy said,

    I’ve been wanting to try this recipe forever. My last attempt at Mac&Cheese(omni version) was so so so disgusting though that somehow I thought staying away from it might be a good idea. But I think I’ll have to give it a try now.

  3. Anke said,

    What do you mean, actual dinners? This is one of my favs… Susan’s recipe rocks 🙂

    Lizzy, you should definitely give this a try.

  4. I’ve been meaning to try this recipe FOREVER! Ok, maybe not forever, but for a long time! Did you follow the recipe exactly or make some changes? I think when I make it (which is going to be SOON!) I will use penne, because your picture looks so yummy.

  5. veganalects said,

    Chocolatecoveredvegan- the only change I made was to replace the onion powder with garlic powder and use a little less of it (because I don’t have onion powder). I thought I might want to add some Earth Balance, but it’s creamy enough for me! Definitely give it a try.

    Glad to know there are so many other fans of this recipe.


Leave a Reply

