January 31, 2008

Broccoli Soup with Roasted Red Pepper Coulis

Posted in dinner, soup, the Challenge at 8:58 pm by veganalects

My internet was down for a couple days, so I have some posts to make up. Don’t worry, I’ll keep them brief. I made this soup from VeganYumYum when I wanted vegetable soup that was hearty and filling. We all liked it a lot because it has lentils and soymilk, so it sticks your ribs. All it requires is a slice of crusty bread for sopping up the bowl.

What really makes the soup, though, is the roasted red pepper coulis (forgive the psychedelic pattern). Roasting peppers over a gas stove is so much fun. It might make your kitchen smell weird, but trust me, it’s worth it. The maple syrup and the tahini in the coulis complement each other well, and the sweetness of the whole thing contrasts nicely with the savory soup. I recommend making crazy shapes out of the coulis. Faces would be good.

1 Comment »

  1. Yuck I hate when my internet goes down! It’s so funny to think that we spent so many years with no internet at all and now it’s hard to go a day without it!

    Broccoli soup sounds wonderful to me, as broccoli is one of my favorite foods.


Leave a Reply

