February 2, 2008

Chai Latte Cupcakes

Posted in baking, cupcakes, dessert, VCTOTW at 5:54 am by veganalects

Aren’t beverage-themed cupcakes inexplicably delightful? I can’t seem to stop making them. I love chai lattes, so I figured I couldn’t go wrong with this recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.

Oh my god, let’s just start with the batter. I could have called it a chai latte and drunk it from a cup. The spices were exactly right and it was so creamy and delicious. (Yeah, I lick the bowl. No salmonella risk, right?) Since I was aiming for a solid version of the drink, though, I restrained myself and put them in the oven.

Actually, I think I might have kept them in the oven a tiny bit too long. They were a little spongier than the other cupcakes I’ve made from VCTOTW, but it was certainly nothing grave. They were still good. The only thing I would change in the future is the frosting, actually; I thought they could have used something moist and creamy on top instead of the sugar and spices they recommend. If you wanted to make it really authentic, you could even top it with vegan whipped cream. Ooh, I should do that next time.

8 Comments »

  1. Romina said,

    Mmm. Those look so good. I bet you could sell them and make profits!

    The best thing about vegan baking is you truly can eat the batter without fear! I lick the bowl clean.

  2. Cody said,

    They look yummy. I’ve been trying to decide on my first beverage-inspired baked good, but I haven’t got around to it.

    I had a serious problem putting down even the vanilla batter the other day. It’s just so good…

  3. Give me one of those over a chai latte any day! Yep, sometimes I too must exercise must restraint to stop the bowl-licking, but only because I know this will only increase my pleasure later when I consume warm baked goods. 🙂

    I am dying without that cookbook.

  4. Anke said,

    Hhmmmm, these look wonderful… I’m a great chai latte lover too. In fact, the husband is making some just now. If only I had one of your wonderful cupcakes to go with it…

  5. VeggieGirl said,

    beverage-themed cupcakes ARE quite fun – these chai latte ones look divine!! you should try the Root Bear Float Cupcakes from the “My Sweet Vegan” cookbook – those are stellar, for sure :0)

  6. veganalects said,

    VeggieGirl- Mmm, I just got root beer extract. That sounds amazing!

  7. Lizzy said,

    They look beautiful, I swear I can smell the chai latte! This was one of the first recipes I bookmarked when I got VCTOTW, but I haven’t made them yet.
    Topping them with vegan whipped cream is such a great idea!

  8. nicole said,

    Those cupcakes sound like they were VERY good. My husband loves chai – too bad for him that I’m not a very good cook lol.


Leave a Reply

