February 17, 2008

Luscious Lemon Bars

Posted in baking, dessert, Veganomicon at 2:11 am by veganalects


I was hoping to make these lemon bars from Veganomicon before I came back to school, but life (and packing) took over and I never got the chance. When I got here one of my (omnivorous) friends raved about them to me. That was all the motivation I needed to make them.

I had never made anything with either agar flakes or arrowroot before. Thickeners are crazy! The bars weren’t hard to make, but I wasn’t sure whether I was handling the thickeners properly. A word of advice: don’t get boiling agar on your hands. Not only will it burn, it will stick to you most persistently. Eventually everything mixed smoothly and I filled the crust and set the bars out to cool.

Having had a half dozen tasters for these, I can say confidently that they’re a hit. Whatever reservations my friends had about the lemon bars’ radioactive hue (hard to detect in this picture) disappeared after the first bite. Want testimonials? “Oh my god, I’m majoring in lemon bar eating.” Fact: making these lemon bars has been proven to increase your popularity by at least 46%.

That said, I should point out that their texture is different from that of the lemon bars I used to eat. The agar makes it quite gelatinous, smooth, and firm (“like a petri dish,” said the lemon bar majorer, and with good reason: most petri dishes are made of agar). The lemon bars I remember from my pre-vegan days were basically thick lemon custard over shortbread. I might try to recreate them someday. Please don’t let that turn you off, though—the only reason we have one lemon bar left is that I’m saving it for the friend who recommended them.

2 Comments »

  1. Lizzy said,

    An omni raving about a vegan treat, now how awesome is that?
    The lemon bars looks great!!
    I was so impressed when I used thickener for the first time. Thanks for the agar tip ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Anke said,

    Wow, these look amazing. i always find desserts muh harder to veganize than other things. Wow, I have abrand-new copy of V-con at hom, I will try these ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

